Poems

On a Hill in a Middle of Nowhere (A Poem by Jan Decena)

“On a hill in a middle of nowhere
Where the breeze was cool and the grass would always sing
And the birds would always soar high above
Little clusters in between clouds and blue sky
I held my hand out and breathe.
On a hill in a middle of nowhere
Where towns were small and cars were scarce
And the dear mothers and fathers would always whisper
Little lullabies and little stories to their little ones
I laid down on these pure fields and sleep.
On a hill in a middle of nowhere
Where the trees would chime and water would tinkle
And it was all hushed words and wispy dreams
But in open spaces where you feel that you still matter
Between these sunflowers, there! I see you.”

Another short poem this time. I think my Essex countryside environment is taking shape in my writing. I do love my fields and open spaces, though, so I don’t mind it taking over.

Follow me shenanigans on Twitter: Jan_Decena
Follow me shenanigans on Instagram: jan_decena
Visit my DeviantART: Artisticallicous

Leave a Reply

